Triple A treatment with Gary Numan

So I was having one of those ‘If you’re not on the list you’re not coming in’ moments at the Sheffield Academy for Gary Numan.  Fortunately Assistant Manager Ian phoned through and a few minutes later I’d got my pass.  I said Hi to Neil from Human League and Amanda Roy from Regional Magazines, both sporting personal photo passes.

“Typical”, I thought feeling deeply second class. On closer inspection though it turned out the dull text on mine was a bit better than the usual small print and equated to ‘Access all areas’ clearance!! What a result.  I’d get to stay in the pit for the whole gig with Gary’s photographer my old mate Ed.

Iniitially the pit was absolutely rammed with snappers, mostly armed with fairly miniscule digital cameras.  After three numbers though they all got kicked out and Ed and I had all the room we needed to get the shots.

Amanda and Neil stayed for the after show party and I headed back-stage.  The keyboardist is a friend of Neil’s and thought maybe I’d shown up for some shots of him.  Gary was all smiles as I harked back to the last time we met – more than a decade ago at the 2001 Kerrang! Awards.  Realistically I wasn’t expecting him to remember.  Still, he couldn’t have been nicer and with a casual “Where do you want me?” we were sorted.

It was a great night – venue pretty packed and the encore, inevitably, included the classics, Friends Electric and Cars.  And of course my gilt edged pass did help to make the evening a bit special. Life in the triple A fast lane…I reckon I could get used to it…

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Triple A treatment with Gary Numan”

  1. amanda roy Says:

    you mad bird trace, love ya. xxx

Leave a comment