Day trippers

Annie farm

After all the excitement of Y Not? I was ready for a bit of down time. Amanda was staying up from London for the whole week, I’d just got a couple of jobs to sort out so we decided to go on a series of outings most of which involved shopping, drinking a lot of coffee, eating plenty of cake and walking around a fair bit….although probably not far enough, or fast enough, to compensate for the cake.

Hebden BridgeOn Monday and Tuesday we weren’t enormously adventurous – in fact Headingley was as far as we got.  On Wednesday though the weather was fine and I had a landscape architecture brief in Manchester so we hopped over there, did the job and then explored DoIt 2013 – an interactive  and ‘generative’ exhibition at the Manchester Art Gallery.  Visitors are invited to play their part in building the exhibit.  Sadly no photography allowed so I can’t show you the extensive contribution Amanda and I made…

Clearly, as a photography blog this is not going well but never fear, come Thursday we made it to picturesque Hebden Bridge complete with marvellous canal, historic architecture and a very good veggie BLT in the park café.

Annie farm

Friday I needed to do some more horse images for my new website (coming soon) so it was off to Annie’s farm.  One of Annie’s ponies is through to a prestigious ‘best in class’ final (‘coloured ridden pony’ to be precise) at this year’s Horse of the Year Show. Not this one. This is Clown who was a wee bit camera shy but lovely nonetheless.

Annie farm

We also found time to catch up with the hand reared lambs who have really grown and are super friendly. I think they know I’m veggie.

Annie farm

And we had time to play with some double exposures – here’s one I made earlier.

Annie farm

And another looking through Amanda as she photographs some of the sheep.

The weekend rounded things off with a narrow boat trip from Leeds to Woodlesford – another cute village…cue blackberrying and more tea and cake.  It was brilliant to kick back for a week and I was sorry to see Amanda head off back to the big smoke…but realistically I probably need to lay off the carbs for a couple of weeks…

Hebden Bridge

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment