Kings with conscience

For some years now Alvarez Kings have been my favourite unsigned Sheffield band.  In fact quite honestly it would be nice if I could stop saying that as they are just too good to be sitting there consigned to the unsigned shelf.

Last weekend they were launching their new EP Cold Conscience and they organised a great line up of bands to support them at the Sheffield O2.  They also had a guest rapper JKas join them which is not really my thing but still it added a different dimension to the sound. Truth is though they don’t really need any help.  All the songs are written by lead singer Simon and they are quality stuff.  The Saturday night crowd were bopping along as enthusiastically to the new tracks as they were to their old favourites which is always a good sign and you just can’t help yourself. Cold Conscience is another catchy tune.  I’m aware that sounds bad but I mean catchy in a Smiths way not in your Rick Astley Too many Broken Hearts way (apologies if that song is now lodged in your head for  the rest of the day).

So to the big question…why are the Alvarez Kings still unsigned after half a dozen years of turning out great songs and great gigs?  Well when it comes to management they won’t compromise.  They know what they want and that involves a level of control.  So should they make some concessions to get the backing, the deal and the airplay? Who knows.  They are who they are, I’ve known them a long time now and I wouldn’t change them. I just really hope that eventually the success will come.  And I can photograph them at the Arena. Where the lighting is a bit better and the pit more spacious….come on boys..do it for me!!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment